Day Eleven: I’m So Lazy (New Routines)

Despite the startling amount of things I accomplish in a day, I am a shockingly lazy person. 

Honestly. 

I am always trying to avoid work. I want to accomplish my tasks with as little effort as possible, which may lead to unexpected bouts of creativity and leadership, but often leads me to look for hacks. After all, why reinvent the wheel when you could be napping?

Two voices that I have constantly looked to for guidance have in their own ways, expressed what is to me one eternal truth. We don’t have time to be bored. There is no such thing as “nothing to do”, only time we utilized and time we wasted. Those reminders from the fabulous Nouman Ali Khan and Hamza Yusuf are also echoed by Mufti Menk. They say it much better than I ever could so I will let them do the talking.

If you struggle with time management or productivity then please see my playlist Here for tips and encouragement.

However, as we approach Ramadan I am reminded that this is the time when I can’t afford to be lazy. Laziness at any time is a sacrilege, but during Ramadan, we should be especially vigilant.  My plan is to engineer my day for success so that I can fully take advantage of every moment of Ramadan, and hopefully every day after that. That means deleting games from my cell phone, setting reminders on my phone to keep me on schedule, and making it hard to break the routine. It also means being persistent in my dua.

Dua-26

So here is a little help from Thomas Frank for all the lazy people out there. Remember that resting is also DOING SOMETHING (boy I sound lazy). Its called self-care, people. You need to disengage, spend time smiling at your family or even smiling WITH your family. He also has some great videos on how to improve sleep, cut down on your internet usage, and stop procrastinating

As always, if you get any benefit from what you found here today, then go ahead and like, comment, share, and subscribe. 

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

