Ramadan Reflection: Sadaqa

“When a man dies, his deeds come to an end except for three things: Sadaqah Jariyah (ceaseless charity); knowledge which is beneficial; or a virtuous descendant who prays for him (the deceased).” [Sahih Muslim]

This Ramadan I signed up for Launch Good’s Ramadan Challenge. The goal is to contribute, even as little as $1.00, to a new charity each day. Every day I get an email reminder and a recommendation for campaigns to support with my tax-deductible gift. I decide how much to donate to each campaign, and with a few simple clicks, I am done. It feels great to be able to increase my good deeds during this blessed month.

There is an option for automatic donations, removing you from the process completely and letting the system choose which campaigns you will support. I chose to do it manually, allowing me to vary the amount I give and to choose the campaign. This seemed at first to be the best option. I am the type of person who has almost all of her bills on autopay so that I can avoid late fees. Yup, I am the kind of person who will simply forget to pay my electric bill.

But I opted out of this in order to be intentional about my giving. I wanted to make giving a conscious habit during this month, even if it’s only a dollar. I also wanted to choose campaigns that would do continuous good. There are a lot of campaigns that are one-offs. These are the kind that delivers food or clothing to refugees, families in need, or famine victims.

While these are COMPLETELY useful and worthy causes, I wanted to put my weight behind the kinds of campaigns that are sustainable solutions. Orphanages, schools, wells, etc. are investments in the institutions and organizations that we need as a community to maintain and expand the Ummah. I believe that we, as a community, need to constantly think about our legacy. How are we changing and shaping the world around us? What will you leave behind you that will impact the world?

Brother Ahmad Deedat, may Allah be pleased with him, left behind amazing lectures and debates that even until now impact the hearts and minds of Muslims and non-Muslims alike. All of the good that comes from those videos not only shapes the world around us but continue to accrue barakat for him in the grave. SO, I am looking at my giving as an investment, and I want to invest in things that have the best ROI. I am encouraging you to get involved with the Ramadan Challenge and increase your blessings every day of this blessed month.

 

If you can’t give financially, be sure to give in other ways. Consider your giving, not as a deed or an amount of money that has been thrown away. Remember, this is an investment in your akhirah and in the future of Islam. Take it as seriously as you would a financial investment and choose projects and campaigns that are lasting. Choose volunteering opportunities and charities that change the face of Islam and improve the lives of people in a sustainable and holistic way.

Remember the saying, give a man a fish and he eats for a day; teach him to fish and he will eat for his whole life”. Below are two of my favorite campaigns on Launch Good. I supported them and I hope you will as well.  If you can’t afford it, be sure to share them on your social media and share in the blessings of the people who donated because they learned about the campaign through you. 

 

https://www.launchgood.com/project/mauritanias_first_ecofriendly_womens_mahdhara#/

https://www.launchgood.com/project/this_ramadan_help_revolutionize_access_to_islamic_education_using_visual_learning#/

 

Leave a Reply

